top of page

How I Self-Published My Book




6F180828-9C67-49B0-A0EB-C6E6DB65F815.jpg
6F180828-9C67-49B0-A0EB-C6E6DB65F815.jpg

In January 2019, I self-published my first book, Sons of God, Daughters of Men, and I can’t imagine doing it any other way.

When I completed my first book, I experienced an almost instant depression. It was over. The story was told and no one else was going to experience the world I created. It felt unfair to my characters. It felt unfair to me for the years of hard work I put into it. It felt unfair to those close to me that stood by me and offered support for so long during this process. So, I decided to publish it. After a few unsuccessful queries to literary agents I decided to go the self-publishing route, and I am so glad I did. The truth is, self-publishing allows you to skip all the bullshit and waiting that comes with traditional publishing. I just didn’t want someone else controlling my vision.

The world wants your unique perspective. Unfortunately, so much is siphoned out throughout the formal editing processes because they’re trying to fit you in a box. We want honest. We want bold. We want bleeding hearts to spill out onto the page.

There are several ways to do this, but I have found the easiest route is through Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing site. You have the option to upload your book as an ebook, paperback, or both. The best part about it is that it is free! This is a great way to make a little extra money. You earn 70% of the royalties in many counties. They make it easy for you. While you have to do your part with marketing, there is a promote and advertise option.

Six Easy Steps

1-Write a book and edit

Or, you could create a journal, a how-to guide, comic, or even textbooks. You are not limited to a traditional book. Get creative! The key, though, is letting it come from the soul.

Then comes editing. For me, editing and I have a love/hate relationship. I love to relive the story, but then there is the part that requires actual editing. Don’t be afraid to ask for help with editing. After reading your book a hundred plus times it is expected you will pass by errors or plot breaks. Trust me. I am there! I will be posting a revised version of my book soon.

2-Create an account with KDP

You can sign in with your Amazon login. Simple as that.

3-Create captivating cover art

You want to catch your readers’ eyes, but you don’t want to overwhelm them. I wanted to keep mine simple, so I used a photo I had taken. You can hire freelancers to design cover art for you if your creative genius ends at writing.

4-Upload your book according to the format specifications

The first time I self-published my book the spaces between the sentences were far too wide. That is what happens when you don’t read through the formatting instructions. Fortunately, you can make changes and upload them easily.

5-Pick your price

You can pick an ebook price and paperback price. The site includes a handy tool that calculates for you your royalty based on the price you choose. You can also make changes to your prices. You have the control!

6-Congratulations! You are published!

All your hard work has paid off. It is an amazing, terrifying, and completely joyful feeling to do an internet search of your book and POOF, there it is — your ideas realized and available to the world.

Wrapping Up

Gone are the days of self-publish stigma. Self-publishing is an excellent opportunity to spread your valuable ideas, educate others, or entertain by introducing readers to a new fantastical world, and even make money. There are self-published authors out there making a killing by living their dream of writing. This article lists a few. That could be you. You just have to start writing.

Drop Me a Line, Let Me Know What You Think

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Train of Thoughts. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page